Facebook Tracking Pixel


The Blue Ridge National Heritage Area Partnership offers matching grants to provide and leverage funding for new projects across the region which preserve, protect, and promote the rich historical, cultural, and natural heritage of Western North Carolina while stimulating economic opportunity.

New Grant Awards Announced – March 20, 2019

We are pleased to announce another 19 grant awards! Congratulations to the recipients!

BRNHA Grant Awards Announced 2019

These awards were made from a pool of applications submitted in the fall of 2018.

Next Grant Cycle – 2020

BRNHA offers grants every two years. We plan to announce our next grant cycle in the summer of 2020, with applications due in October 2020.

The tentative schedule for the next grant cycle is:

2020 grant cycle announced – June 2020
Grant information sessions – July 2020
Deadline for grant applications – October 2020
Applicants notified of funding decisions – by February 2021

Grant Guidelines and Application Forms

The maximum grant award is $16,000. Applicants must provide at least a one-to-one match from non-federal sources.

For complete information on the BRNHA grants program, including categories of grants and eligible uses of grant funds, be sure to review our 2018 grant guidelines and application forms:

Types of Projects Eligible for Grants

Grants are available for the preservation, interpretation, development, and promotion of heritage resources in five thematic areas:

• Agricultural heritage
• Cherokee heritage
• Craft heritage
• Music heritage
• Natural heritage

These distinctive facets of Western North Carolina’s heritage were the basis for the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area designation in 2003.

Of particular interest to the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area are projects that:

• are regional or multi-county in scope
• involve active partnerships between organizations
• leverage substantial matches from project participants and other grantors

Funds for the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area’s matching grants program are provided by the federal government through the National Park Service.

Who Can Apply

The following types of organizations serving the 25-county Blue Ridge National Heritage Area region are eligible to apply:

• units of state and local government
• federally-recognized Indian tribes
• academic institutions
• non-profit organizations with 501(c)3 or 501(c)6 tax-exempt status from the Internal Revenue Service

Applicants may submit no more than one application per grant cycle. Only one project may be proposed in a single application.

Grant Awards – A Legacy of Regional Investment

Since its inception in 2003, the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area Partnership has awarded 173 grants totaling over $2.3 million to projects that preserve, interpret, and develop the heritage resources of the region. These awards have leveraged another $5.6 million in matching contributions from the state, local governments, and the private sector. 

Blue Ridge National Heritage Area grants have supported indoor and outdoor exhibits, oral history projects, video documentaries, interpretive programs, visitor brochures, music classes, and the marketing of heritage destinations. The grant projects have provided engaging and authentic heritage experiences to hundreds of thousands of visitors and residents.

A list of all our grant awards can be found here:
Complete List of BRNHA Grant Awards

Reporting Forms and Publicity Requirements for Grantees

Narrative and financial reporting forms for grantees:

BRNHA Grant Progress Report Form
BRNHA Grant Final Report Form 2018
BRNHA Grant Financial Report Form 2017
BRNHA Grant Financial Report Form Example 2017

A list of requirements for acknowledging receipt of grant funding and publicizing a grant award:

BRNHA Grant Publicity Requirements

More Information

For more information, please contact:

Rob Bell
Senior Director of Programs
Blue Ridge National Heritage Area
(828) 296-7230 ext. 229